Triple Crown accreditation and what it means

Jessamy Amic

Posted: January 26, 2021

Table of Contents

“Triple Crown accreditation” is a term found in business school and reputable academic institutions of professional and career advancement. Receiving a certificate or degree from a school with a Triple Crown accreditation is worth its gold in business and the achievement suggests not only the stellar reputation of the school but also the individual’s strong work ethic and drive to excel in business overall.

What is Triple Crown Accreditation?

When it comes to business schools, holding a Triple accreditation, also known as Triple Crown accreditation, is the cream of the crop of certifications. Only 1% of business schools across the globe hold Triple Crown accreditation and of those, only three are in Africa.

The accreditation is awarded by the most influential business organisations and schools undergo a thorough, concise process to receive recognition from them. The three leading organisations are:

  • AACSB – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. (Based in the United States)
  • AMBA – The Association of MBAs. (Based in the United Kingdom)
  • EQUIS – EFMD Quality Improvement System. (Based in the European Union)

Receiving accreditation as a business institution highlights the high standard and quality academic offerings the school provides. Awarding the accreditation takes into consideration the school’s teaching, the calibre of staff and faculty and the student evaluation.

While receiving accreditation from one or two of the governing organisations is prestigious as is, holding the Triple is highly esteemed in the world of business schools. This is because of the rigorous set of standards an institution needs to adhere to receive an award from all three of the leading business academic organisations. The accreditation, at its fundamental level, is committed to upholding an advanced level of business education and advancing entrepreneurs and business-minded individuals in their programmes.


What is the AACSB Accreditation?

Awarded by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, the AACSB Business Accreditation is one of the awards of the Triple Crown accreditation.

According to the AACSB, the fifteen standards to uphold as a business school are classified according to the following requirements:

  • Strategic management and innovation;
  • Participants (including all faculty, students, and professional staff);
  • Learning and academic teaching; and
  • Professional and academic engagement.

What is AMBA Accreditation?

Awarded by the Association of MBAs, the AMBA accreditation is granted to only the best programmes and praises those with the highest standards of excellence in postgraduate education. Across 75 different countries, only 2% of business schools hold the AMBA accreditation. The organisation looks at ten critical principles before awarding the achievement, including:

  • A high faculty quality;
  • Excellent programme design and
  • The overall student experience.

What is EQUIS Accreditation?

Awarded by the European Quality Improvement System, the EQUIS accreditation looks at the overall business and knowledge sharing experience in a business programme. The standards include components such as:

  • Critical context in business planning;
  • Governance, regulation and strategy;
  • Standards set for and achieved by students; and
  • Thorough research and development.

Why is Triple Crown Accreditation valuable?

Because of the strict requirements and high standards set, receiving the Triple Crown accreditation is highly celebrated and there are only limited business schools in the world to hold Triple accreditation. This makes completing a programme through a Triple Crown accredited school extremely valuable in business. Not only are few able to boast the achievement, but the practical skills gained are also of top-tier quality.

In Africa, only a few business schools hold Triple Crown accreditation, three of which are under MasterStart’s offerings. With the University of Cape Town (UCT) Graduate of Business School (GBS) and the University of Pretoria’s Gordon Institute of Business Science (GIBS) online short courses, you can earn the prestigious achievement of becoming a Triple Crown certificate holder.

Enjoyed reading this post? Please consider sharing with friends


Featured Articles